Eleven Candidates on the shortlist of the Edmond de Rothschild Design Award are Bezalel graduates and lecturers | Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design, Jerusalem

Eleven Candidates on the shortlist of the Edmond de Rothschild Design Award are Bezalel graduates and lecturers

Published on

Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design Jerusalem congratulates its eleven graduates and lecturers who are included in the shortlist for the Edmond de Rothschild Award for Product Design 2021.

The purpose of the Edmond the Rothschild Design Award is to promote and encourage excellence through public recognition of established designers with a high caliber portfolio of significant volume; to identify and support emerging designers at the start of their career; to boost local interest in contemporary design and enhance international exposure to Israeli design in particular.

The award is given annually in one of three areas (a three year rotation) to four creators; two established designers and two emerging designers in one of three professional fields – Visual Communication Design (20220), Product Design (2021), and Accessories & Fashion, Textile and Jewelry Design (2022).

Last year, the award was given to four designers in the field of Visual Communication, all of whom are lecturers and graduate of the Academy: established designers Yanek Iontef and Guy Saggee and emerging designers Ayal Zakin and Dar Laor. In 2021, the award focuses on product design.

The Product Design Award 2021 will be given to designers whose body of work involves the design of objects and products. This includes all areas of industrial design and product design, design and technology, the design of medical and industrial equipment, transportation design, consumer product design, biological and marine design, integrated user-interface design, furniture design, display design, toy design, tool design, from limited editions to mass production.

The judges committee will announce the winners in a month.

Candidates in the Established Designer category: Dov Ganchrow, Chanan de Lange, Yoav Tikochinsky (Tiko Product Design), Pini Leibovich, Alex Padwa, Prime Studio and Avner Sadot (Nekuda).

דב גנשרוא. צילום: מוטי פישביין
Dov Ganchrow


אקסליבריס, חנן דה לנגה
Chanan de Lange

Candidates in the Emerging Designer category: Gal Bulka, Roee Magdassi, Talia Mukmel, Shira Keret and Itay Laniado (Laniado Keret Studio), and Gilli Kuchik and Ran Amitai.


The EDR Design Award Website
Shortlist announcement on Portfolio online magazine